How Would I Install Cockpit CMS UserFlood Addon on Fedora Server 35?

Hi,

I came across Cockpit CMS UserFlood Addon via GitHub and I would like to install it on my Fedora Server 35.

Is there a simple way to install/configure it on my Fedora Server? I see instructions on the GitHub repository but I am a bit new to this particular install.

Thanks!

I figured it out. That was a tough but fun learning experience.

Never mind, I did not figure it out. I have a few questions:

Composer tells me to not run it as root, so I do not. This leaves me with questions about the installation.

1. Do I install git clone https://github.com/pauloamgomes/CockpitCMS-UserFlood.git ./addons/UserFlood in the root folder or do I create a path in my sudo user profile user_name/cockpit/addons?
  2. If I install the rep in the root folder /etc/cockpit/ I cannot run composer since it does not have superuser privileges and I get permission denied. This makes me believe I need to create a cockpit path for the addon in my user account, but will the addon be systemwide or just for me?
  3. If it is not systemwide in relation to question 2, how would I make it systemwide?

It will not read the addon location with composer require auloamgomes/cockpitcms-userflood if it is in the root path for Cockpit but it will when it is in my user path.

I have probably answered my questions in that it is supposed to be created in my user’s path and not the root unless it is fine to run composer as root.

UPDATE
I put the UserFlood folder in the root cockpit path /etc/cockpit/addons/UserFlood and then I created my project file in my user path because no matter where I put my project there always seemed to be a schema error:

./composer.json" does not match the expected JSON schema: - name : Does not match the regex pattern ^[a-z0-9]([_.-]?[a-z0-9]+)*/[a-z0-9](([_.]?|-{0,2})[a-z0-9]+)*$