How to run two "Independent" Cockpit containers in Docker

Hi, I’m new to Cockpit and a total noob at Docker:no_mouth: I originally had some difficulty setting up Cockpit on Ubuntu so I decided to go the Docker route… this worked great!

Now I’m trying to run two instances of Cockpit for two separate domains. I used reverse proxy in my NGINX conf files to map the domains to two different ports on localhost (3000,5000):

upstream ap1-api {
	server 127.0.0.1:3000;
}

upstream ap2-api {
	server 127.0.0.1:5000;
}

Then I spun up two Docker containers from the same Cockpit image:

docker run -d --name app1-api -p 127.0.0.1:3000:80 agentejo/cockpit -D FOREGROUND

docker run -d --name app2-api -p 127.0.0.1:5000:80 agentejo/cockpit -D FOREGROUND

I was able to get Cockpit running on both domains, but it looks they are sharing the same data… adding to a collection on one domain also adds it in the other.

I thought maybe my mistake was spinning up a container from the same image in docker. So naturally I did a docker image save and then imported that image (ending up with two differently named Cockpit images), but… when I start up the two containers they are both still sharing the same data.

If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be great.

Thanks!

in your example seems that you have the same port (3000) in your upstreams!

in such case a better approach (at least for local development) would be to use traefik to forward requests to your containers (no need to use nginx or expose ports in the cockpit containers)

Thanks for getting back to me, and sorry for the copy/paste typo. I was indeed running two different ports 3000,5000 (I’ve edited my post).