V1 to V2 Migration and Assets Issues

Hi all, I don’t believe this question has been asked before, apologies if it has.

I am a beginner/intermediate user of GetCockpit and previously had an educational website up and running fine on v1. I am now migrating to v2 due to changes in PHP version of my hosting server.

The cockpit files are hosted on a subdomain: ‘…/cockpit-master/’ previously I used the defines.php file to point links to the correct subdomain, along with a modification to the .HTACCESS file’s rewrite rule (RewriteRule .* /cockpit-master/index.php [L]). With v2 most things seem to be working with just the change in the ReWriteRule as I believe defines.php has been superseded.

The thread ‘Converting from V1 to V2: Collections - Cockpit v2’ (Converting from V1 to V2: Collections) was very helpful for migrating collection data into V2. Thanks to Ronaldaug for his article on modifying sql database entries.

My old website used layouts for variable page layouts, I have found that I am needing to make additional changes to the sql database as the JSON tag ‘component’ that was used to denote a layout block in V1 has now changed to a tag called ‘data’ in V2. However changing the sql seems to allow HTML data to be pulled from the V1 sql database into V2 OK.

I am now looking to migrate a series of images that were previously saved as Assets in V1, does anyone have any experience or advise on this? I was planning on seeing if a similar method to Ronalaug’s would work with assets.

Unfortunately I am falling at the first hurdle and getting a 404 error when trying access ‘Assets’ through the main user landing screen. All other links are working fine (‘Content’, ‘API’, ‘Search’ etc). I have tried to locate where the Assets link should point to to see if its a address error (due to the website being in a subdomain). Does anyone have any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

Stage 1:

Put the kettle on, make a brew - you may need it!

Background of SQL file function: