How to create custom API Endpoints

Hi,
I’m fairly new to PHP so I don’t know how to do this.
Is there a way to create custom API Endpoints?
I would like the user to be able to logout but im not sure how to call the available function.

Thanks for your help!

When you use the api, you just don’t log anyone out.

Your api requests pass an api token to the api endpoint in need of getting some data from cockpit. This api token won’t expire (as for now) and can always be used in order to fetch data without the need of authenticating a user at cockpit.

I guess you perhaps missunderstood the concept cockpit is based on.

The interface that you can log in to (http://yourwebserver.com/cockpit) is just for the content editor. This is just a admin / editor backend.

The API is for getting/fetching data that you may display on your webpage (or app or what ever).

A user that views your application (or webpage or what ever…) does not need to log in (and so he also does not need to log off) in order to make your application display data that you put in there as an admin/editor.

Yes true but I want to use it for user management too, so that users can register an account and so on. Is that possible?
Also is there a way to restrict certain Collections Entries for a particular user?
I noticed there’s a access-list field type but the requesting user is always seeing all entries.

Thanks for your help

I think it is possible but it won’t be that easy I guess.

For example this method can be used to check a user and password combination against the user DB of an cockpit installation:

public static function checkAuth($user, $pass){
    $url = self::$_COCKPIT_BACKEND_URL . '/auth/check';
    $fields = [
        'auth' => [
            'user' => $user,
            'password' => $pass,
        ]
    ];
    $data_string = json_encode($fields);
    $ch = curl_init($url);
    curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_CUSTOMREQUEST, "POST");
    curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_POSTFIELDS, $data_string);